Giveaway for Valentine’s! Win “Crock-On” Cookbook!

What?? Is it weird that a crock-pot cookbook is a romantic giveaway?

It’s not to me! I guess my view of “romance” has shifted a bit over the last five years.

Case in point: A few months ago, Todd and I left for a date, and pulling out of the driveway after leaving our kids with my parents, Todd said, “Do you want to go take a nap? Let’s just go park somewhere and take a nap.”

Don’t worry, we didn’t go through with it. We did go have our nice (albeit tired) fancy dinner. But I guess I’m just not so crazy and wild as I was back in the day. Which, let’s be honest, was never really that crazy and wild to start with.

Anyway, I think it is perfectly appropriate to give away this rockin’ crock pot cookbook over the Valentine’s Day season. Love = comfort = crock pots. Agreed? Great.

If you are not familiar with Stacy Makes Cents, do yourself a favor and follow her blog. She has the terrific knack to make things like razors and salt seem entertaining, while at the same time you learn something. That’s a skill, y’all. (And ps, everyone knows that when people say “y’all,” they are really telling the truth. No one says “y’all,” and lies.)

image courtesy of stacymakescents.com

image courtesy of stacymakescents.com

Anyway, I have been really impressed with her cookbook Crock On Cookbook so far. This week I made two recipes from it: Creamy Chicken Chowder, and Stuffed Pepper Stoup. Both were delicious. My family literally devoured the Stuffed Pepper Stoup. As Stacy suggested, I served it with cornbread (my dairy-free, egg-free healthi-fied cornbread, to be exact…stay tuned for that recipe). I was literally shocked at how delicious it was! I can’t wait to try a few more recipes from the book this week!

Here’s what I like about this cookbook:

  • the recipes are original, healthy, and simple
  • it includes great pictures (aren’t picture cookbooks just better??)
  • it includes Stacy’s cute and funny commentary. Might as well enjoy yourself while you’re making dinner.

You can purchase a print copy of the book for $12, or an e-book for $5.

You can also enter to win an e-book version of the book here!

To enter:

  1. “Like” Smartter Each Day on FB, or subscribe via email.
  2. Comment below: What’s the best thing you’ve ever eaten out of a crock pot?

Contest ends 8:00am Saturday, February 16, and I’ll announce the winner here sometime that day.

16 thoughts on “Giveaway for Valentine’s! Win “Crock-On” Cookbook!

  1. I made a beef stew in the crock pot from my own recipe 2 days ago and it was the best stew I’ve ever eaten. This is saying a lot, because I normally like to follow a recipe with exact measurements and ingredients listed. This time I just threw in what sounded good, prayed, and let it cook for 7 hours. Yum!

  2. Our family LOVES the recipe called Farmhand Supper. We eat it at least twice a month. Very filling and always enough for leftovers!

  3. I love my crockpot…it’s hard to choose one that’s my favorite, so I’ll just pick the easiest (& most recent) one I’ve made….Salsa Chicken

Leave a Reply

